The territorial organisation of the Spanish state is set out in Title VIII of the Constitution:

  • Art. 137. The state is organised territorially into municipalities, provinces and autonomous communities. All these bodies shall enjoy self-government for the management of their respective interests.
  • Art. 140. The Constitution guarantees the autonomy of municipalities (…). Their government and administration shall be vested in their town councils, consisting of mayors and councillors (…).
  • Art. 141.3. Other groups of municipalities other than provinces may be formed.